Countries with the most men’s ODI world cup cricket winning trophies

The first Cricket World Cup of the One Day International (ODI) cricket organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) was held in 1975 in England. The first three events played in England only in daytimes were officially known as the Prudential Cup after the sponsors Prudential plc. In these three world cups, West Indies reached the finals and won the cups two times in a row. Out of eleven editions of the cricket world cup, Australia has won the cup for five times leaving behind India and West Indies. The team of Australia won the tournament in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. The team is also the first country to make a hat trick in winning the world cup cricket.

Countries which have won the ICC World cup cricket are listed below:

11975Lord’s, LondonWest IndiesAustralia
21979Lord’s, LondonWest IndiesEngland
31983Lord’s, LondonIndiaWest Indies
41987Eden Gardens, Kolkata, IndiaAustraliaEngland
51992MCG, Melbourne, AustraliaPakistanEngland
61996Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, PakistanSri LankaAustralia
71999Lord’s, LondonAustraliaPakistan
82003Wanderers, Johannesburg, South AfricaAustraliaIndia
92007Kensington Oval, BridgetownAustraliaSri Lanka
102011Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, IndiaIndiaSri Lanka
112015MCG, Melbourne, AustraliaAustraliaNew Zealand

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.